Become Aware of the Joy Available To You

48372849_10156897922510030_8059272398823751680_n

I’ve been busy with commissions this Christmas season. Interestingly, when one is busy with commissions during the holidays it sometimes feels like the joy of the season is passing by as one works alone in the studio. Then again, when feedback occurs and people are happy with the final work that was created, one becomes aware of a real joy that occurs and a part of Christmas seems to appear early.

I find my work fun… in fact I don’t take commissions unless I consider them fun… and I’ve got to add it’s a big warm-fuzzy when clients are super happy with what I present to them. So now, the more I think about it, I’m not missing any joy of this time of year after all. In fact, truth be known, the commissions add a sense of joy (in more ways than one) that I actually would miss if it were not for them.

Whether you yourself are involved with commissioning work, working on commissions or none of the above… may you become aware of the joy available to you this wonderful time of year.

Merry Christmas

Pictured are two of the several commissions I’ve received this Christmas season..

~ John Essex II is a retired art teacher, a two-time Lilly Teacher Creativity Fellow and an Arts Council of Indianapolis Creative Renewal Arts Fellow. He is also artist/owner of EssexArt ABC, LLC through which he keeps busy creating his own fine art, creates commissioned art, does caricaturing by commission and at special events, conducts private painting parties and is contacted regularly to play the bagpipes (yes… play the bagpipes). Essex also maintains an online print-on-demand store where patrons can acquire gallery quality giclée prints of his art as well as other products that feature his work.
To view what Essex does, and to shop at his online store, go to: https://www.facebook.com/EssexArt,
48370531_10156900197170030_8105305450280386560_n

Leave a comment